Brianna Petersen

Letter to Cousin

Hey Becky!

The other day when we were talking I remember you said that you don’t know what a Public Relations Professional does, or even what Public Relations means.  I thought I would try to enlighten you a little bit so that you can understand when I tell you about what I do.

First of all, I thought I’d share with you a definition I found in an article of The Princeton Review that sums up the different aspects of a Public Relations Professional, “Their job is to generate positive publicity for their client and enhance their reputation.  The client can be a company, an individual or a government.”  So basically, Public Relations deal with a lot of aspects but the most important thing a PR person does is communicate.  Whether they are dealing with internal or external communications they need to be able to say what they need to say in a way that satisfies what the listeners want to hear.  On my first day of class my professor said something to the effect of; regardless of what you want to know, I’m going to tell you what I want you to know.

To give you a career to connect the title “Public Relations” to, I’ll give you a few examples.  When you see someone speaking at a press conference being broadcast on the news, they are likely the Public Relations Professional for the agency.  Of course, sometimes the President or another prominent figure is doing the talking but either way, what they say was carefully planned out before hand in order to convey the message needed.  Another example is a special event planner, which is what I want to do.  Special Events can range from a corporation’s Christmas party to a big concert in the park to the Super Bowl.  Although they may not be dealing directly with the public as much, they still need to be fast thinkers, detail oriented, and personable because they will be working with many other businesses and people.

I hope that helped you get a picture of what I’m going to be doing as a career, I’m sure we will talk lots more about it.  Good luck with school!

This entry was published on September 6, 2011 at 11:34 am and is filed under Writing. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Letter to Cousin

  1. Hey Bri,
    Great job on the assignment! I really liked how you included the definition that you found in the princeton review, I though that it was a helpful definition and it was good that you included the link. It was also good that you then broke it down and explained in simple terms exactly what a public relations professional does for a living. I liked that you emphasized that PR is based around communication. Nice work!
    -Annie

Leave a Reply

